kerrydawson

3D Design Student

Getting a grip! Minor & Major projects for 2012/13

Leave a comment

Today was the first day that we all had to sit around and share our Proposals for the final year – this was where we all got to hear about what we all planned to do with the next academic year, what we wanted to look at and where we were headed!!! Some of the group had the same focus for inspiration but out of 11 students not one of us had the same outcome or focus for our proposals!!!
There are defiantly going to be some interesting projects this year! some of the people on my course I follow (check the “Blogs I Follow” tab at the side) but others are not bloging on word press and so I have found there links to there sites and will be keeping an eye on how they get on with there research! why not have a look yourself?

http://leahledesign.blogspot.co.uk/ – Leah Le’s blog

http://h3k.blogspot.co.uk/ – Mathew Handy’s blog

Our tutor for this year the Designer Tom Sutton – so having someone in the know is going to be a huge bonus for us all. Check tom’s work out here http://tomsuttondesign.blogspot.co.uk/

So what have I decided upon for my minor and major projects? – well . . . .

For my minor project I plan to look at kitchenware and utensils. Focusing on designers like Joseph-Joseph, black+blum, Menu and Alessi for inspiration, I hope to improve the design of kitchenware and utensils making them innovative and affordable while incorporating surface pattern. I will find be searching for my inspiration for surface pattern by looking at Vintage designers such as George Nelson, Robin & Lucien Day, Clarris Cliff & Bridget Riley as well as some Contemporary designers such as Ella Doran for instance. To be honest I am quite excited about merging 2 areas together, and hopefully I will create something desirable at the end of the project.

So what am I to do for my major project? I know that I am being REALLY ambitious by choosing the project that I have done for my major project but I feel that this will have legs and run . . . . . . . . . . .

For my final project I plan to look at the Equine rugs already on the market, how they are used and how they could be developed to produce a therapy rug that could be used to treat stiff muscles and tension in the horses back and hind quarter area’s before and after they have been exercised. I plan to design a rug that is functional and affordable. And I hope to create a range of rugs and saddle cloths/ exercise sheets that will help to keep the horse warm while being worked. There are many different types of rugs for horses on the market but nothing that is to be used before and after (or even during) exercise to treat/ help muscle development. As I have said this is an ambitious project and the amount of research I will have to do is epic . . . . . so I am of to research the muscle structure of the equine.

Author: ker916

Studying 3D Design at UCLAN, in my final year, Graduate 2013! I'm 32, single parent of 2, with a mini zoo of animals that keep me as busy as the children do! Interested in reading, drawing, designing, riding my daughters pony (as mine has yet to be backed). Not really computer literate as I am Dyslexic (hence reading is a hobby and a chore!) but i enjoy a challenge!

Leave a Reply

